
WYOMING OIL AND GAS STATE TAXES 
 

 
Severance Taxes1  6% on normal production (tax on oil was 4% effective  
                        1/1/99-11/30/1999) 
 

4% on oil stripper wells (10 bpd or less if 
average price is over $20/bbl, 15 bpd if average 
price is under $20/bbl) (tax was 3% effective         

                      1/1/99-11/30/1999) 
 
Ad Valorem Taxes2 (Statewide Mineral Tax District Average = 6.6 (6.6065) 
 

County  2002 Tax  County  2002 Tax 
 

Albany  6.6 (6.5940) Natrona  6.7 (6.7276) 
Big Horn  7.6 (7.6036) Niobrara  6.9 (6.8500) 
Campbell  5.9 (5.9422) Park   7.3 (7.3437) 
Carbon  6.2 (6.2374) Platte  6.6 (6.6182) 
Converse  5.8 (5.8165) Sheridan  6.5 (6.4605) 
Crook   6.1 (6.0565) Sublette  6.0 (5.9571) 
Fremont  7.3 (7.3416) Sweetwater  6.6 (6.6458) 
Goshen  6.8 (6.7965) Teton   5.9 (5.9142) 
Hot Springs  6.9 (6.9425) Uinta   6.3 (6.3298) 
Johnson  6.6 (6.6484) Washakie  7.1 (7.0762) 
Laramie  6.7 (6.6855) Weston  7.0 (7.0083) 
Lincoln  6.4 (6.3542) 

 
These are 2003 ad valorem taxes (latest available) which are applied against 
2002 production.  The figures are reassessed every July and available usually 
by November 1 of every year.  Changes usually vary only a few hundredths of a 
percent from year to year. 
 
Mill levy is assessed against the market value of the oil or gas minus the 
basic royalty.  In case of oil, if it must be trucked to a market point, then 
this transportation charge is also subtracted.  If the pipeline is used for 
transporting, then the mill levy is assessed against the well head value. 
 
Wyoming Oil and Gas Tax Variances (see footnotes for detailed description) 
 

A.  Tertiary Oil Production - 4% severance tax for lst 5 years.3        
         (This rate was 3% from 1/1/99 to 11/30/1999)1. 
 

B.  Renewed Production - 1.5% severance tax for lst 60 months of     
   production.4 
 

C.  Workover/Recompletion Production - 2% Severance Tax for lst 24   
   months of production after workover/recompletion.5 

 

D.  New Wells Drilled (7/1/93-3/31/03)- 2% severance tax for 1st 24   
   months of production up to 60 bbls/day or 6 MCF/bbl gas equivalent.6 
 
Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Tax    0.080% (effective 3/1/02)7 
 
Tribal Severance Tax 8.5% on non-stripper oil production and gas production 
                         (effective 4/1/89) 

4% on oil stripper wells (10 bpd or less).8 
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1  Rick Meese, State of Wyoming, Revenue and Taxation Division, Mineral Tax 
Section, Herschler Building, 122 West 25th Street, Cheyenne, Wyoming, 82002-
0110, 307-777-7867, Fax, 307-777-7849.  The historical 6% severance tax on 
normal production is imposed by four subsections (i, ii, iii, and iv) of 
Wyoming Statute (W.S.), 39-14-204(a), each subsection imposing a (excise) tax. 
On March 3, 1999, House Bill 274 was signed into law.  This legislation 
modifies W.S. 39-14-204(a)(iii) and (iv) to reduce the severance tax in each 
subsection on crude oil by one (1) percent effective January 1, 1999.  The 
reduced rate continued until November 30, 1999, when the average monthly price 
equaled or exceeded $20.00 per barrel for three (3) consecutive months.  In 
summary, the severance tax for crude oil was reduced from 6% to 4% for normal 
production, and stripper and tertiary oil production was reduced from 4% to 
3%, effective January 1, 1999, through November 30, 1999. 
 
2  Rick Meese, State of Wyoming, Revenue and Taxation Division, Mineral Tax 
Section, Herschler Building, 122 West 25th Street, Cheyenne, Wyoming, 82002-
0110, 307-777-7867, Fax, 307-777-7849.  Also can be found at the Wyoming 
Department of Revenue web site under Mineral Division. 
 
3  Tertiary production resulting from projects certified by the Wyoming Oil and 
Gas Conservation Commission after July 1, 1985, and before March 31, 2001, is 
exempt from two percent (2%) of the severance tax imposed by W.S. 39-14-
204(a)(iii) for a period of five (5) years from date of first tertiary 
production.  This tertiary oil tax is applied to incremental production from a 
baseline calculation.  This tertiary incentive has been reinacted effective 
January 1, 2003 to March 30, 2008 (no tertiary incentive in months where the 
price exceeds $27.50/bbl).   
 
4  Oil produced from previously shut-in wells is exempt from all but 1.5% of 
severance tax for the first 60 months of renewed production or until the average 
price received exceeds twenty-five dollars ($25.00) per barrel for six months, 
whichever occurs first.  The oil well must have been shut in from at least 
January 1, 1993, to December 31, 1994. 
 
5  Incremental oil or gas production resulting from a workover or recompletion of 
an oil or gas well between July 1, 1993, and March 31, 2001, shall be exempt from 
the taxes imposed by W.S. 39-14-204(a)(iii) and (iv) for a period of twenty-four 
(24) months immediately following the workover or recompletion. 
 
6  Oil and gas produced from wells drilled between July 1, 1993, and March 31, 
2003, except collection wells, is exempt from the excise taxes imposed by W.S. 
39-14-204(a)(iii) and (iv) for the first twenty-four (24) months of production on 
oil production up to sixty (60) barrels per day or its equivalency in gas 
production, which for purposes of this subsection shall be six (6) MCF gas 
production for one (1) barrel oil production, or until the price received by the 
producer for the new production is equal to or exceeds twenty-five dollars 
($25.00) per barrel of oil or two dollars and seventy-five ($2.75) per MCF of 
natural gas for the preceding six (6) month period of time. 
 
7Linda Emmons, Wyoming Oil and Gas Conservation Commission, P. O. Box 2640, 
Casper, Wyoming, 82602, 307-234-7147. 
 
8Terry Fisher, Wind River Severance Tax Commission, P. O. Box 830, Fort Washakie, 
Wyoming, 82514, 307-332-7835. 
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