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Alaska 113,854 330 114,184 10,291 1,193 109 9,187

Arizona 355,592 1,885 357,477 26,745 0 430 22,272

California 274,157 1,476 275,633 28,023 2,712 624 24,521

Colorado 250,034 337 250,371 8,673 898 60 7,351

Eastern States  /d/ 10,989 0 10,989 55 0 0  26

Idaho 181,281 1,223 182,504 15,203 247 951 16,179

Montana  /e/ 204,939 1,477 206,416 22,314 3,906 140 13,534

Nevada 769,154 14,686 783,840 126,232 0 1,577 115,081

New Mexico  /f/ 167,935 728 167,936  9,547 0 43 8,739

Oregon  /g/ 153,443  678 154,121 11,385 1,834 29 10,192

Utah 352,992 1,306 355,222 12,026 3,792 350 11,136

Wyoming  /h/ 253,534  415 255,079 16,755 1,750 136 14,325

Total 3,087,904 24,541 3,113,772 287,249 16,332 4,449 252,543
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FOOTNOTES

Note: The data was audited for Fiscal Year 1999 and corrections have been made in columns 2 and 5 concerning claims and sites remaining at the
beginning of Fiscal Year 1999.

/a/ Active means that the subject claim or site is in good standing under the recording, maintenance, and assessment work statutes.  It does not
refer to any potential activity upon the land contained within the claim or site.

/b/ Claims declared forfeit or abandoned and void, or null and void, under Public Laws 94-579, 103-66, or 105-277.  On October 21, 1998,
PL 105-277 (112 Stat. 2681-235) continued a one-time location fee of $25 and an annual maintenance fee of $100 per claim or site in lieu of
performance of assessment work.  Certain “small miners” and mineral patent applicants were exempted and the fees waived.  Failure to pay,
qualify as a “small miner,” qualify for a waiver, or file necessary documents as required by law or regulation results in statutory
abandonment and forfeiture of the affected claim or site (43 CFR 3833.1-6).  Claims forfeited or abandoned in one year may be closed out in
the following year.

/c/ Claims held under First Half of the Mineral Entry Final Certificate (FHFC) for a mineral patent application are exempt from the
requirements to perform assessment work or to pay the annual $100 fee (43 CFR 3851.5).

/d/ Includes all States bordering on, or east of, the Mississippi River.

/e/ Includes North and South Dakota.

/f/ Includes Oklahoma, Texas, and Kansas.

/g/ Includes Washington.

/h/ Includes Nebraska.

Sources:  BLM’s automated mining claim recordation systems for the lower 48 States and Alaska; BLM State Office records and working files.


